KLCC: Landmark of Malaysia

multi race
Multiracial and ethnic is unique in Malaysia
malaysian currency
Ringgit Malaysia as Malaysian currency

Malaysia At A Glance

Malaysia is a tropical nation in the Southeastern region of Asia, located between 2°and 7°North of the Equator. It consists of two geographical regions divided by the South China Sea. West Malaysia or Peninsular Malaysia shares a land border on the north with Thailand and is connected by the Johore Causeway on the south with Singapore. East Malaysia consisting of the island of Labuan and the states of Sabah & Sarawak, occupies the northern part of the island of Borneo, bordering Indonesia and Brunei. Centrally located in South East Asia, it serves as an important gateway to this part of the world that is home to over half of the global population.


The two distinct parts of Malaysia, separated from each other by the South China Sea, share a largely similar landscape. Malaysia’s size is similar to Norway but three quarters of the land is made up of ancient rainforests, shoreline mangrove and mountain top oak trees. A single kilometre plot of forest in Sabah or Sarawak may well contain more than 800 different species of trees. There is also a rich diversity of flowers, birds, ferns, insects and animals ranging from the Orang Utans to the elusive Sumatran rhino. Malaysia is a treasure trove of biodiversity. The Straits of Malacca, lying between Sumatra and West Malaysia, is arguably the most important shipping lane in the world. Malaysia also has 4,675km of stunning coastline with beautiful sandy beaches.

People, Culture & Heritage

Malaysia is a multi-racial, multi-cultural and multi-religious country with a rich cultural heritage. Malaysia has close to 28 million people, made-up of three main ethnic groups of Malays (51%), Chinese (24%), Indians (8%) and others minorities (17%). Its rich multi-cultural history presents a unique variety of food, traditions, festivals, arts & craft, costumes and even architectural styles. Malaysia is home to an array of languages and dialects from the Malay, Chinese and Indian traditions, with Bahasa Malaysia being the national language. English is widely spoken. All the major religions of the world have their devotees here as manifested in the number of beautiful mosques, churches, colourful temples and other place of worship that are scattered all over the country.


The Malaysia Currency is in Ringgit Malaysia (RM) and sen (cents). Notes are issued in RM1, RM5, RM10, RM50 and RM100 denominations while coins are in 5, 10, 20 and 50 sen denominations. As against the USD the exchange rate is RM3.03 to USD1. Foreign currencies can be exchanged at all banks and authorized money changers throuhout the country. Major credit cards are widely accepted.


Malaysia is made up of 13 states and three Federal Territories. The 11 states on Peninsular Malaysia are Perlis, Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Johor. Malaysia Borneo make up the rest. The three Federal Territories are Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya (both in the Peninsular) and Labuan in Sabah.